• The Magpie Knitter…

    ...trying to get from "Oooooh, shiny!" to a design.
  • Magpie Knitter on Twitter

  • Latest Knits...

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Jen Johnson began knitting in 2007 while pregnant with her daughter and does most of her knitting for her daughter and son. When she couldn’t find the patterns she wanted, she added designer to her job titles of Navy wife and mother. Jen loves the inspiration she gets from all the beautiful yarns available, as long as she doesn’t get distracted by—ooh, shiny!
  • free counters

Moving, moving, moving…

I know, I just got here…

…but I’m moving on.

During a chat with some of my fellow NASCAR knitters as we watched a race, someone mentioned being surprised at how many people she knew starting small businesses. “I guess I’m kinda starting a small business,” I said, surprised at the thought.

Our CPA friend assured me that I wasn’t “kinda” doing anything. Granted, for quite a while I won’t be needing to file with the IRS because I’ll be below the hobby limit…but that’s the kind of thing I need to start thinking about now.

Another thing I needed to start thinking about was establishing a professional identity…and for that reason, I decided it was time to move from WordPress.com to a hosted blog on my own domain. I didn’t want the site to look much different, at least not right now, so I’m still using WordPress…but now you’ll be able to find me at themagpieknitter.com.

themagpieknitter screenshot

The process was a lot more painful than I’d hoped–saying the learning curve was a precipice would be an understatement–and I undid a lot more work than I kept, but I’m happy with the result. I’ll need to make some changes down the road, but what I have works for what I need right now.

I have copied all of the posts and info from here over there, so this blog will be closing down in a few days. Hopefully, you’ll come visit me at the new The Magpie Knitter!

Leave a Reply

