• The Magpie Knitter…

    ...trying to get from "Oooooh, shiny!" to a design.
  • Magpie Knitter on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Latest Knits...

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Jen Johnson began knitting in 2007 while pregnant with her daughter and does most of her knitting for her daughter and son. When she couldn’t find the patterns she wanted, she added designer to her job titles of Navy wife and mother. Jen loves the inspiration she gets from all the beautiful yarns available, as long as she doesn’t get distracted by—ooh, shiny!
  • free counters

So…what now?

I just wove in the last end on my last design sample. I spent a few minutes just admiring it (even though it needs to be blocked, it’s still cute), and then I handed it to my husband for his admiration. He really likes both the design and the colors in this sample, and I agree on both. I also managed, once again, to find the absolute perfect buttons, and I love how they look with the yarn. Blocking will commence tonight, and hopefully it’ll be ready tomorrow for a quick photo shoot with Lexie before I ship off all the design samples. I sat back with a sense of accomplishment and a job well done…

…and for the first time in several weeks, found myself at a bit of loose ends.

Of the 3 samples I knit for my 2 designs, one of them was completed a few months ago since it was decided the one I was already working up could be the design sample. But for the other design, which comes in 4 variations, we decided it would work best to work up 2 variations in different colorways. They’ll be killing 2 birds with one stone, because not only will they show off my design, they’ll be showing off part of a new fall colorway line. So, ever since I received the yarn for the samples, I haven’t done anything knitting related except knit those samples and type those patterns.

It’s not that I don’t have anything else planned. I have lots of plans, both design and knitting. I even have things on the needle right now, like a Snug baby hoodie I’m knitting for my cousin’s newborn. I haven’t taken a good in-progress photo of this one yet, but I have the body done and most of one sleeve; just the rest of that sleeve, the other sleeve, and the front/hood to go. I’m loving the knitting and the buttons that I custom ordered from Tessa Ann on etsy:

Tessa Ann Teddy Bear buttons with 3IG Carson

I think it’s that I have too many plans right now. There are several design ideas that I’ve been jotting down notes on while I’ve been consumed by my current designs. Some are for fall, and some are for spring/summer, so I’m dithering a bit on what to work on first. I’d like to do more submissions, now that I have a whole 2 under my belt, so I need to start doing research with those publications and see what their deadlines are for various issues. Then I can start prioritizing my plans.

But I’ve decided that will be for tomorrow. For now, I think I just need to knit. Preferably something simple and undemanding. Where’s that Snug?

Leave a Reply

